WG4 Workshop "Data storage and archiving strategies" in Sofia (NMNHS)

From COST-MOBILISE Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The event will focus on identifying some general strategies in the long-term storage and archiving of object data and assigned multimedia files. This include the discussion on technical and content standards as well as specific conditions which might arise by legal and administrative requirements. We will address approaches of storage and archiving solutions as realised in large and small collections, and discuss the archiving systems of various national and European collection data networks and hosting agencies. The relations to major European open science and research data infrastructures is another issue. This kick-off workshop will provide a guide for the following activities of WG 4 within the next 2-3 years. COST will take over your travel and accommodation cost for invited participants.

Venue

The Workshop will be held in Sofia, Bulgaria from 12th to 13th of March 2019. It will be hosted by the Institute of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Research and the National Museum of Natural History - Sofia, both units of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences.

Location:

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences - Campus 1, Hotel of Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (HBAS), 50 Shipchenski Prohod Street, 1113 Sofia

and

Bulgarian Academy of Sciences - Campus 1, Institute of Mechanics (IM) (Block 4), Acad. G. Bonchev Street, 1113 Sofia

Registration desk, plenaries, lunch and cocktail (dinner) at HBAS, WG meeting rooms are in both buildings, i.e. HBAS and IM (at 200 m from one another).

Local organisator: Boyko Georgiev (boyko_georgiev@yahoo.com)

Info on transport and accommodation as pdf

Agenda

Tuesday 12/03/2019

12.30-13.30 Lunch

13.30-15.00 Plenary (intro-scope)

15.00-15.30 Coffee break

15.30-17.00 WG4 workshop "Long-term data storage and data archiving strategies" 1: Introduction and definitions, scope of the workshop (discussion lead team and presentations: G. Kahila Bar-Gal, P. Braun, N. Cazenave, P. Grobe)

Wednesday 13/03/2019

08.15-08.30 Welcome coffee

08.30-10.30 WG4 workshop "Long-term data storage and data archiving strategies" 2: Standards, standardisation, formats and norms (discussion lead team and presentations: L. Bechard, A. Chikalanov, D. Triebel, P. Wieder)

10.30-11.00 Coffee break

11.00-12.30 WG4 workshop "Long-term data storage and data archiving strategies" 3: Large amount of data, archiving challenges (discussion lead team and presentations: B. Declercq, P. Gagnier, P. Grobe, T. Struck)

12.30-13.30 Lunch

13.30-15.00 WG4 workshop "Long-term data storage and data archiving strategies" 4: Summary and perspectives, report (discussion lead team and presentations: H. Goodson, G. Kahila Bar-Gal, D. Triebel)

15.00-15.30 Coffee break

15.30-17.00 Plenary (results-discussion)

Participants

Convenors: Gila Kahila Bar-Gal and Dagmar Triebel

last name first name email address country, affiliation notes
Alvarez Dorda Beatriz balvarez@mncn.csic.es Spain, CSIC and MNCN
Bechard Lorène bechard@cines.fr France, CINES
Braun Paul paul.braun@mnhn.lu Luxemburg, MNHN
Cazenave Nicolas cazenave@cines.fr France,CINES
Chikalanov Alexander ctmdevelopment@yahoo.com Bulgaria, ULSIT
Declercq Brecht brecht.declercq@viaa.be Belgium, VIAA
Gagnier Pierre-Yves pierre-yves.gagnier@mnhn.fr France, MNHN
Goodson Hilary hilary.goodson@egi.eu Netherlands, EGI
Grobe Peter p.grobe@leibniz-zfmk.de Germany, ZFMK
Kahila Bar-Gal Gila gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il Israel, NNHC
Rey Fraile Isabel isabel.rey@csic.es Spain, CSIC and MNCN
Struck Torsten t.h.struck@nhm.uio.no Norway, UiO-NHM
Triebel Dagmar triebel@snsb.de Germany, SNSB
Wieder Philipp philipp.wieder@gwdg.de Germany, GWDG

Presentations (sorted by authors)


Video on YouTube

Summarizing

Materials

Useful links and materials

Definitions of core terms in the data archiving context


Back to Working Group WG4

Back to MOBILISE website