Working Group WG4

From COST-MOBILISE Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

WG4: Development of Standards and Guidelines for Data Archiving and long-term preservation (content, curation, technical, documentation)

The official COST MOBILISE Working Group WG 4 is found here.


  • For Agenda and Results of the WG4 Workshop "Data storage and archiving strategies: Towards a documentation and guideline" in Warsaw see here.

COST MOBILISE Working Group WG 4: Tasks, objectives, key labels

COST MOBILISE Working Group WG 4 has two tasks:

(a) Identify existing communities and expertise, concepts and standards on storage space and solutions on data archiving and long-term preservation

(b) Compile guidelines about strategies for long term data archiving for different types of organisations and consortia

Task descriptions in detail

With that it has four MoU objectives:

  • linking experts and bridging expertise
  • compiling standards, formats and norms
  • planning the increase of sustainability (OAIS, FAIR)
  • facilitating interoperability


WG4 experts should come from the collection community (CETAF institutions, EU projects), library community, domain-specific data centers, computing centers – big data storage community etc. They are professionals in handling big and complex data, data archiving, versioning and FAIRness of data, OAIS requirements of repositories etc.


Key labels:

  • Long-term preservation and archiving of big and complex data
  • Long-term storage and archiving of large data objects (e.g., multimedia)
  • Versioning and FAIRness
  • Recognized repositories and OAIS requirements



COST MOBILISE Working Group WG 4: Members

For registration as WG4 contributors see OSF platform MOBILISE COST Action WG4 . Please inform the WG 4 (co-) leaders Gila Kahila Bar-Gal and Dagmar Triebel if you want to be added in the list of active group members below.

Current active group members (confirmed by WG co-leaders) are:


last name first name email address country, affiliation affiliation of the home institution to collection domain EU projects and CETAF working groups domain
Agosti Donat agosti@amnh.org Switzerland, Plazi ICEDIG semantic web (not invited by WG4 for W), is also member of WG5
Alvarez Dorda Beatriz balvarez@mncn.csic.es Spain, CSIC and MNCN DISSCo, Synthesys+ collection and data processing, biobanking, S+, W+
Archambeau Anne-Sophie anne-sophie.archambeau@mnhn.fr MNHN-UMS collection and data processing, data archiving GBIF
Bechard Lorène bechard@cines.fr France, CINES DISSCo, EOSC Hub, EOSC Pilar, FAIRsFAIR, ICEDIG, PRACE computing center, data storage and archiving, S+
Ben-Hur Eyal eyal.ben-hur@mail.huji.ac.il Israel, HUJI BIOGIS citizen science, flora and fauna portal, W+
Bingert Sven sven.bingert@gwdg.de Germany, GWDG library and data archiving, schemas and standards, W+
Braun Paul paul.braun@mnhn.lu Luxemburg, MNHN DISSCo collection and data processing, MC, S+
Caviere Fabien fabien.caviere@mnhn.fr France, GBIF, MNHN-UMS collection and data processing, data archiving GBIF, see http://www.gbif.fr/page/infos/lequipe-du-gbif-france, W+
Cazenave Nicolas cazenave@cines.fr France,CINES DISSCo, EOSC Hub, EOSC Pilar, FAIRsFAIR, ICEDIG, PRACE computing center, data storage and archiving, S+
Chikalanov Alexander ctmdevelopment@yahoo.com Bulgaria, ULSIT library and data processing, semantic web, S+, W+
Declercq Brecht brecht.declercq@viaa.be Belgium, VIAA, meemoo big data/ image storage and archiving, S+, confirmed March 2020
Franc Alain alain.franc@inra.fr France, INRA big data storage and archiving
Gagnier Pierre-Yves pierre-yves.gagnier@mnhn.fr France, MNHN DISSCo, ICEDIG and Synthesys+ collection and data processing, MC, S+, W+
García-Muñoz Teresa tgarciam@ugr.es Spain, UGR economics of archiving of physical-object-collection-related scientific data???
Granier Alexandre granier@cines.fr France, CINES DISSCo, EOSC Hub, EOSC Pilar, FAIRsFAIR, ICEDIG, PRACE computing center, data storage and archiving, expert for file formats and lead developper on archiving platforms
Grobe Peter p.grobe@leibniz-zfmk.de Germany, ZFMK CETAF ISTC, DISSCo, Synthesys+ collection and data processing, S+, W+
Hardisty Alex hardistyar@cardiff.ac.uk United Kingdom, Cardiff University CETAF ISTC, DISSCo, Synthesys+ collection, computer science and data processing
Ivanovic Dragan dragan.ivanovic@uns.ac.rs Serbia, UNS ENGAGE, HolaCloud, VRE4EIC digital documents management system and digital library, ICT, W+
Jakimovski Boro boro.jakimovski@finki.ukim.mk Macedonia, UKIM - Grid computing, High-performance computing, Parallel and distributed processing, Genetic algorithms, W+
Kahila Bar-Gal Gila gila.kahila@mail.huji.ac.il Israel, NNHC - collection and data processing, MC, S+, W+
Meissner Kristian kristian.meissner@ymparisto.fi Finnland, SYKE DNAqua-Net environmental information and standardization, ISO norms and sampling design
Neuman Shoshana Shoshana.Neuman@biu.ac.il Israel, BIU - economics and human resources, meta databases on economics, data archiving, MC, W+
Rey Fraile Isabel isabel.rey@csic.es Spain, CSIC and MNCN DISSCo, Synthesys+ collection and data processing, biobanking, MC, S+, confirmed March 2020
Struck Torsten t.h.struck@nhm.uio.no Norway, UiO-NHM collection and data processing, big data storage and archiving, MC, S+, W+
Triebel Dagmar triebel@snsb.de Germany, SNSB CETAF ISTC and working groups, DISSCo collection and data processing, schemas and standards, MC, S+, W+
Weibulat Tanja weibulat@snsb.de Germany, SNSB and GFBio e.V. GFBio collection and data processing, big data storage and archiving
Wieder Philipp philipp.wieder@gwdg.de Germany, GWDG library and data archiving, schemas and standards, S+


COST MOBILISE Working Group WG 4: Further information

Useful links and materials

Definitions of core terms in the data archiving context

Archiving guideline editorial team

WG4 Annual Report Y1, June 2019

biodiversity_next - a joint international conference by TDWG, GBIF, CETAF & DiSSCo: Symposium: "Federated Infrastructures for Sustainable Biodiversity Data Management (SI55)" at Leiden, The Netherlands, co-organised by COST MOBILISE WG4


Former active group members

last name first name email address country, affiliation affiliation of the home institution to collection domain EU projects and CETAF working groups domain
Goodson Hilary h.goodson@nhm.ac.uk United Kingdom, NHM data storage and archiving (formerly EGI); S+, 2019: no longer active in WG4


Back to WG4 Workshop "Towards a documentation and guideline" in Warsaw

Back to WG4 Workshop "Data storage and archiving strategies" in Sofia (NMNHS)

Back to MOBILISE website